Midnight Music:Lana Del Rey

2---Lana-Del-Rey---Honeymoon---Neil-Krug

Extended weekend has messed with my sleep cycle,and I love it.

Night has always been my favourite time of the day-the quiet,the stillness of the wee hours has always been where I feel most comfortable.

So nights like these,I seek out music-occasionally movies and books,but most often music,for company and with Lana del Rey,I return to an old favourite.

Maybe favourite would be a misnomer-for I have long had a complex love-hate with her,but I remember the fascination she held me in when I first discovered her-her sultry voice,her Lolita references unintelligible to the younger me,her unconventional videos,her invented persona.

Then she would recede to the backdrop-remain a steady buzz,a background score but always find a way to resurface.

I come back to her again now,I find her ideal company when I’m having one of those sad nights.The subdued sensuality,the potent plaintive tone-it is comfort.

Lana’s music isn’t the kind of sad that you wail your heart out and empty buckets of ice-cream to,there is a certain dignity about her melancholy.

Lana is simultaneously catharsis and escape-there is something so atmospheric and a little fairytale-like about her music.Be it the evocative lyrics,the richly textured sound,the almost other-worldly quality her voice sometimes takes on.Her music has a way of whisking me away-almost as if I am transplanted in some other body,some other time,some other world.

Perhaps what draws me to Lana is what critics have picked her apart for-the way she is fiction,a figment of imagination,a creation.And somehow,that infuses her with an odd old-wordly charm reminiscent of old Hollywood,of Kerouacesque road trips,of decadence,of escape.

 

One thought on “Midnight Music:Lana Del Rey

  1. She is something ethereal. She doesn’t belong to this world, she belongs to the bluesy voices of the 50s. She belongs to the era of submissions and devotion. Her voice is something utterly beautiful- honey and smoke and melancholy. I feel that this what draws most people to her. She is not the ideal woman, she is not a woman of now, but a woman of then. A woman who lives a life of deliberate melancholy. But therein lies her beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

